Colorado Springs DWAI Attorney

Although almost everyone who drives knows that getting drunk and then operating a motorized vehicle is illegal, it is very important to be aware that a new restriction has been imposed that may dictate whether you are capable or not of legally driving after you consume alcohol, even when you are not drunk.

This standard is called DWAI, or Driving While Ability Impaired.

What is the difference between DWAI and DUI?

Colorado law distinguishes between two related yet distinct alcohol-related driving offenses: DWAI and DUI. You will be charged with a DUI offense when your blood alcohol content is .08 percent or higher and/or an officer suspect that you were driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drug.

You can be charged with a DWAI offense when your blood alcohol content is .05 percent but is less than .08 percent or an officer believes that your ability for operating a motor vehicle has been impaired even to the slightest degree. If your BAC is between .05 and .08, you’ll need the best DWAI attorney in Colorado Springs.

NEED LEGAL HELP?

Contact Jeremy Loew for a Free Consultation Now!

DWAI Penalties in Colorado

In the state of Colorado, the DWAI penalties are somewhat harsher compared to the DWAI penalties in certain other states.

For example, in Colorado, if you get charged with a DWAI and are subsequently convicted, the potential penalties will depend on the number of times you were convicted previously for an alcohol-related charge.

First DWAI Offense

  • Potential jail sentence of 2 to 180 days
  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • $200-$500 fine
  • 2 Years Probation
  • Level II Therapy and Alcohol Education
  • 24-48 hours of mandatory public service

Second DWAI Offense

  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • Driver’s license revoked for 12 months
  • $600-$1,500 fine and court costs
  • Potential jail sentence of 10 days up to 1 year
  • 2 years Probation
  • Level II Therapy and Alcohol Education
  • 48-120 hours of mandatory public service

Third DWAI offense

  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • Driver’s license revoked for 24 months
  • $600-1,500 fine and court costs
  • Potential jail sentence of 60 days up to 1 year
  • 2 years Probation
  • Level II Therapy and Alcohol Education
  • 48-120 hours of mandatory public service

In the state of Colorado, a DUI or DWAI offense cannot be expunged or removed from your record.

Get The Best DWAI Attorney Today!

If you have been arrested for a DWAI, give Jeremy Loew immediately. Time is not on your side and you need to form a legal defense as soon as possible. Get a well-regarded and experienced DWAI attorney in Colorado Springs on your side!

NEED LEGAL HELP?

Contact Jeremy Loew for a Free Consultation Now!

avvo

FREE No-Obligation Consultation
With An Attorney Who Can Help You

Jeremy Loew Wins Top Attorney Award!

awardOut of a field of approximately 1,100 attorneys surveyed, Jeremy Loew was selected as one of two top Colorado Springs Criminal Defense attorneys in the prestigious "Colorado Springs Style’s 2015 Top Attorneys" competition.
Jeremy Loew
This Attorney is Lead Counsel Verified. Click here for more Information.
The following two tabs change content below.

mikehutchinson209@hotmail.com

Latest posts by mikehutchinson209@hotmail.com (see all)