Motor Vehicle Theft Attorney
Motor vehicle theft, grand theft auto, and aggravated motor vehicle theft are all terms that are commonly used for describing the theft of motor vehicles.
Colorado Motor Vehicle Theft Law
The law in the state of Colorado defines a motor vehicle as being any vehicle that is propelled by any form of power other than muscular, with the exception of vehicles that run on rails. (Colorado Rev. Stat. § 18-4-409 (1)(a).) That definition includes both aircraft and boats, along with trucks and automobiles. (Colorado Rev. Stat. § 19-1-901 (k).)
There are 2 kinds of vehicle theft under Colorado law, first-degree motor vehicle theft, and second-degree motor vehicle theft.
First-Degree Motor Vehicle Theft
This refers to theft where an individual knowingly obtains control or possession over a motor vehicle owned by another person without the owner’s authorization and performs one or more of the aggravating factors below as well:
- Retains possession of the motor vehicle for more than 24 hours
- Tries to disguise, change, or alter the motor vehicle’s appearance
- Removes or alters the VIN (vehicle identification number)
- Commits a crime, except for traffic violations, using the motor vehicle
- Causes damage of $500 or more to the motor vehicle or other property
- Causes injury to another individual while trying to get the vehicle under control
- Causes injury to another individual while controlling the vehicle
- Takes the vehicle out of Colorado for longer than 12 hours
- Places license plates on the vehicle that were not issued to it
Second-Degree Motor Vehicle Theft
To commit second-degree vehicle theft, an individual must knowingly control or obtain another individual’s motor vehicle without the owner’s authorization or through deception or threat. This crime gets elevated to first-degree theft when there are one or more of the aggravating factors below involved:
- Retain control or possession of the vehicle for longer than 24 hours
- Attempt to disguise or alter the vehicle
- Attempt to remove or alter the VIN (vehicle identification number)
- Commit a crime while using the vehicle
- Cause bodily injury to another individual
- Cause property damage of more than $500
- Remove the vehicle from Colorado for more than 12 hours
- Display or attach a different license plate on the motor vehicle
Have You Been Charged with Motor Vehicle Theft in the State of Colorado? Call a Criminal Defense Attorney Now!
In the state of Colorado, there are very harsh consequences that come with this type of theft. That is why it is critical to consult with an experienced and dedicated defense law firm.
The Law Office of Jeremy Loew has the tenacity and experience to fight for the rights of individuals who have been accused of theft as well as other offenses. Call now to discuss your case or click HERE to contact us.
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Jeremy Loew for a Free Consultation Now!