Ignition Interlock FAQ

The DUI Ignition Interlock Device In Colorado

The ignition interlock device (IID) is aimed at keeping DUI offenders from driving while impaired or driving under the influence of alcohol. The ignition interlock devices have become commonplace on roads today, installed on vehicles of countless people not only in Colorado but throughout the United States.

Interlock Device Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUID) in Colorado can result in serious consequences. One of the penalties for DUI/DWAI/DUID is the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), which is essentially a breathalyzer attached to the engine of your car.

This is also known as an Ignition Interlock Restricted License.

The Ignition Interlock Device Is Expensive

The ignition interlock device is expensive to install and maintain and you will be required to pay the full cost of installation along with the monthly calibration fees. The IID can also malfunction sometimes, which means that you would be stranded with no car if it gives a false BAC.

DUI offenders in Colorado can expect to have the ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles for up to 8 months. In some instances, offenders are required to have the ignition interlock device installed for up to 2 years.

How Does an Ignition Interlock Device Work?

If a vehicle has an IID installed, you will first have to blow into the device before you can start driving so that it can determine whether you have been drinking. If your BAC is below the NHTSA threshold of .025, the vehicle will start and you can drive away.

In Colorado, you’re required to periodically keep blowing into the device while driving. This is called a “rolling retest.” To keep driving, you must blow into the IID within 5 minutes of the device prompting the driver for a breath sample.

What are the Ignition Interlock Laws in Colorado?

Colorado law imposes IIDs for offenders looking to get their driving license reinstated early rather than a sentencing condition. You are required to first install an IID before your license can be reinstated and you must have an affidavit proving that you have.

Your license can only be reinstated after serving 1 month of revocation and after installing the IID. The following are the requirements for obtaining an early reinstatement:

  • 8 months for a first DUI with a BAC less than 0.15
  • 2 years for a first DUI with a BAC above .15
  • 2 years for a second DUI conviction

Colorado also requires installation of the IID if you refuse chemical testing. If you refused to be tested, there is a 2-year interlock requirement for you to obtain early reinstatement.

How Much Does the Ignition Interlock Device Cost?

The IID typically costs between $85 and $110 a month. You will also have to pay an installation fee in addition to the monthly lease fee that averages about $100. However, the installation fee can vary, depending on how complicated the process is and the type of vehicle that you have.

Keep in mind that the vast majority of IID providers charge additional fees for clearing lock-outs, removing the ignition interlock, as well as monthly service downloads that are required at least once every 60 days.

Early Reinstatement IID

If you get an interlock device installed in your car, you might be able to legally drive earlier than what’s stated for your eligibility date. The Colorado Department of Revenue has stated that “Some individuals subject to driving restraints related to alcohol or drug issues may be allowed to reinstate their driving privileges ahead of their normal eligibility date if they participate in the Ignition Interlock program.”

Early reinstatement is limited to drivers who meet the following criteria:

  • Colorado residents
  • 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation
  • Have satisfied all other reinstatement requirements and don’t have any other pending reinstatement actions likely to prevent them from qualifying for early reinstatement.
  • Have a DUI, Excess BAC conviction or multiple alcohol-related convictions and have already served 1 month for the alcohol-related restraint
  • Have a refusal of a chemical test revocation and have already served 2 months for the refusal revocation.

NEED LEGAL HELP?

Contact Us for a Free Consultation Now!