How Much Does A DUI Cost?
Unless you have been charged with a DUI lately, you really have no idea what does a DUI cost.
Thanks to the Colorado Department Of Transportation (CDOT), we’ve been able to compile some representative average costs for a DUI.
Certainly, you might be shocked at the total cost – we were!
However, being charged with a DUI comes with fines and multiple additional charges that could be reduced or even avoided entirely with a proper legal defense and legal strategy from an experienced DUI attorney in Colorado Springs. Above all, not to speak of the jail time and criminal record that will follow you for life if you are convicted.
What Is The Average Cost Of A DUI Conviction?
DUI penalties may include a fine, jail time, a license suspension, installation of an interlock ignition device, a DUI education program and community service. Importantly, additional costs may include court fees, insurance premium increases and additional fines that you might face.
So what exactly is a DUI likely to cost you for a first time offense?
According to the CDOT (Colorado Department of Transportation) the average cost for a DUI in Colorado is now $13,530 which is an increase of $3,260 (32%) over the $10,270 which was the previous average.
In short, this is a significant out of pocket expense and can include the following costs in order of significance:
- DUI Lawyers Fees – $3,650 on average (depends on many factors, varies widely)
- Insurance Rate Increase – in the range of $3,600
- Ignition Interlock Device Rental And Service – $2,172
- Drug and Alcohol Abuse Treatment Program – $1,000
- Probation Fees – $900
- Fine for First Conviction between – $600 and – $1,000
- Detox in Jail – $303
- Probationary Drug and Alcohol Evaluation – $200
- Vehicle Towing – $175
- Victim Assistance Fund – $163
- License Reinstatement – $95
- Law Enforcement Assistance Fund – $90
- Community Service Supervision Fee – $60
- Victim Impact Panel Program – $50
- Car Storage or Impound Fees – $49.20 per day
- Victim Compensation Fund – $29
- Court Fees – $26
- Restricted License – $26
- Brain Injury Fund Fee – $20
- Instruction Permit – $16.80
- Rural Alcohol and Substance Abuse Fund – $5
This Is Just An Average – Every DUI Will Vary In Overall Cost
It is essential to be aware that not all of these charges may apply to every DUI conviction. By the same token, some may be required to pay less or more depending on the circumstances of the conviction as well as other mitigating factors.
The estimated amount of $13,530 is an average of what it is likely to cost and costs such as the fine, lawyers fees and the amount of time a vehicle spends in storage can contribute to the cost.
The BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) Is A Factor In Costs
Likewise, unless you were found to have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) exceeding 0.15, you will probably not be required to pay the fee for an ignition interlock device for a 1st time offense. Moreover, a BAC that is higher than 0.15 (which is more than double the legal limit of 0.08 in Colorado) will result in you being declared a PDD or Persistent Drunk Driver – even if this is your first offense.
Sentencing will can also be increased to that of a repeat offender and the associated penalties will apply increasing the expense of a 1st DUI greatly.
A 2nd and 3rd offense will receive a fine of between $600 and $1,000. Any offense after a 3rd DUI will be charged as a 4th Class Felony and result in a fine of between $2,000 and $500,000.
Most other charges will also increase respectively such as court fees.
Other Costs Associated With A DUI Conviction
For a 1st DUI offense, you may spend between 2 days and 6 months in jail. For a 2nd and 3rd offense, between 10 days and a year jail time. You will also be required to perform up to 48 hours of community service for a first offense and 120 hours for a 2nd or 3rd offense.
The time spent in jail or on community service can all affect your ability to earn an income and can therefore result in the loss of income for you and your family. In cases where a harsh sentence is applicable, this could even result in job loss.
How Can A Lawyer Help Reduce The Expense Of A DUI Conviction?
Keep in mind that all of the costs mentioned above are subject to change. Not all costs will be imposed, and some of the costs are variable such as lawyer’s fees, insurance rates and others. They are only an estimate of what a DUI can cost you in the end.
An experienced DUI lawyer understands how to navigate the DUI conviction process in Colorado. Years fighting DUIs with the knowledge and skill to pursue reduced jail time, fines and reduce other associated costs for their clients.
In some cases, a skilled attorney can get a DUI charge overturned entirely or the case dismissed.
In reality, every DUI charge is different. That’s why you need a great DUI attorney in Colorado Springs if you’ve been charged with a DUI. Call or contact the Law Office Of Jeremy Loew today to discuss your DUI case.
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us for a Free Consultation Now!
Need To Talk To A Criminal Attorney?
Call now for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation to discuss your case.