What About Colorado’s Mandatory Arrest Laws?

In Colorado, mandatory arrest laws require law enforcement officers to make an arrest in certain situations where domestic violence has been reported. The laws were enacted to protect victims of domestic violence and to hold perpetrators accountable for their actions.

Mandatory Arrest Laws In Colorado – Provisions

Under Colorado law, a law enforcement officer must make an arrest if they have probable cause to believe that a crime involving domestic violence has occurred within the previous 72 hours. Domestic violence crimes can include assault, harassment, stalking, and other forms of abuse.

The mandatory arrest provision applies when the officer has probable cause to believe that the person accused of the crime committed it, regardless of whether the victim wants to press charges.

Mandatory Arrest Laws In Colorado

When making an arrest, law enforcement officers are required to take the accused person into custody and transport them to the appropriate law enforcement facility for booking. The accused person will then be held in custody until they can appear before a judge, usually within 48 hours of their arrest. At that point, the judge will decide whether to release the accused person on bail or to keep them in custody pending trial.

It’s important to note that mandatory arrest laws do not require a victim of domestic violence to report the crime or cooperate with law enforcement. However, if law enforcement is made aware of a domestic violence incident, they are obligated to investigate and make an arrest if they have probable cause to do so.

Make Sure You Have The Best Legal Representation

If you or someone you know has been accused of domestic violence in Colorado, it’s essential to consult with a criminal defense attorney who has experience with these types of cases. An experienced attorney can help navigate the legal system, protect your rights, and build a strong defense strategy to help achieve the best possible outcome in your case.


Contact Us for a Free Consultation Now!

Need To Talk To A Criminal Attorney?

Call now for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation to discuss your case.

Call For A Free Consultation
(719) 387-4111