Colorado Springs Distracted Driving Attorney
Distracted Driving Explained
What Is Distracted Driving?
If we were to define distracted driving, we’d take a look at the official government website, to find out this definition.
Basically, any non-driving related activity that has the potential to distract the driver and to increase the risk of getting involved in a road accident qualifies as distracted driving.
Statistics from the National Safety Council show that a quarter of all automobile accidents in the U.S. are actually caused by mobile phone usage while driving.
This type of driving distraction accounts for almost 1.6 million accidents and causes almost 400,000 injuries every year.
The Main Types Of Distracted Driving
There are three types of distractions: visual, physical and cognitive.
- Visual distractions are the ones that involve looking away from the road.
- Physical distractions occur when you take your hands off the wheel.
- Cognitive distractions occur when your mind flies off the act of driving.
Here are a few of these distractions that you should avoid:
- Engaging in conversations with your passengers
- Eating or drinking
- Watching videos or reading
- Changing radio stations or listening to engaging shows on the radio
- Talking on your mobile phone or texting while driving.
Texting While Driving – A Top Threat to Colorado Springs Drivers
Texting and driving is illegal in Colorado for a very long while now. Furthermore, the state of Colorado prohibits drivers from interacting with screens in any way that may lead to imprudent or careless driving.
Drivers younger than 18 must not use their mobile phones while driving, unless they need to make an emergency call. Manually texting and keying a phone number are also prohibited. The statute does allow for using a wireless device for phone calls and/or texting and receiving messages in the event of an emergency while contacting a public safety entity for any age.
Texting not only requires drivers to take their hands off the steering wheel, but also to take their eyes off the road and their mind off the act of driving. The average of five seconds they need to write and send the text message are enough to cause a terrible accident.
Using A Mobile Phone While Driving Is Dangerous – And Illegal
These laws acknowledge the fact that using a mobile phone while driving is extremely dangerous, especially when it comes to young drivers. At the same time, they admit that banning the use of the mobile phone while driving isn’t too practical, if we take into consideration that most drivers use their mobile devices to access navigation systems and playlists.
Distracted driving violations qualify as primary offenses.
Nonetheless, the law enforcement officer can only issue a citation if they observe the use of the cellphone to transmit data, and the careless operation of the vehicle.
Accidents caused by distracted driving imply a higher degree of negligence than the average traffic infraction.
Distracted Driving Penalties In Colorado
If you violate Colorado’s distracted driving law, you’ll get a fine (anywhere between $50 and $1,000) and points off your license (usually between 1 and 4). Should an adult driver already cited for texting while driving cause injuries or the death of another, they may get a sentence of up to one year in jail.
Remember, that adults may legally use a cell phone for calls only while driving – no texting. Minors (anyone under the age of 18) may NOT use a cell phone, while driving, for calls or for texting.
If you find yourself charged with distracted driving – give The Law Office Of Jeremy Loew a call!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us for a Free Consultation Now!